The Combine Forum banner

peas / lentils

10K views 28 replies 13 participants last post by  Don Boles 
#1 ·
i have a new holland tr 97 with a 30' macdon rigid header.

i guess i should start off by saying this is my first year farming since i was a teenager, i've done custom combining and pre working since then but have had nothing to do with the inner workings of a farm. my father has been retired for about 10 years and with the price of oil i decided now was a good time to give it a shot.

i have 650 acres of large green lentils 300 acres of peas 300 acres of durum and 300 acres of durum seeded im starting to get ready for harvest but am having a hard time deciding whether i should purchase a new to me combine / header just a header or make do with the equipment i have. any opinions or input would be greatly apreciated.

#9 ·
just my 2 cents - sounds like you know the combine, which is good - go through it good!
But the header - make the big jump to a 36' FD70/75 is where I would put my money!!
Not to be dorky FF, all MD headers are 0 or 5 ending sizes.
This is production year 11 that way, ever since "D" series headers.
For even more useless trivia, the "D" series headers marked the end of offset header attaching, everything centered since.

breezy, I think a TR 97 is good in those crops but agree with FF a header update to an FD 70/75, they do make a 30' as well.
If it's really flat very careful setting of floatation on the 960 might buy you a year.
But it should be your first upgrade consideration.

#7 ·
@flatfoot my dad figures a 36' is too big for the combine... i don't really know but i am trying to keep costs down until i see some grain in the bin, on the other hand i do want to upgrade the combine and if i get the right header ill be ahead in that regard. in saying that i need to buy a 4wd tractor for next years seeding and cant be upgrading the entire farm in one year.