VHF Antenna mount location??? - The Combine Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2011, 01:15 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default VHF Antenna mount location???

I recently purchased 6 VHF radios and antennas from a farm auction. They are ICOM F-121. The frequency is 163.050. They came with mag mount antennas. I am installing one in my 9882 New Holland and am unsure of where to locate the antenna on the roof. I will have to silicone a steel plate to the roof for the magmount.

With the location of the radio in the cab, routing and length of antenna cable, I am only able to get the VHF antenna about 1.5-2' away from the FM antenna. Is this gonna cause me grief with interference?

At the current VHF antenna location, the GPS antenna is about 8' away, so hopefully no trouble there.

I am also new to the world of VHF so any help will be appreciated.
clubber is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-22-2011, 03:27 AM   #2 (permalink)

FM interference shouldn't be a problem as they aren't the same freq range. (88.1 - 107.9 MHz)

GPS freq's are in the 1000 MHZ and up range so no problem there.
bsigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2011, 03:55 AM   #3 (permalink)

if you can mount the antenna on the hopper alot more metal makes a good booster for the atenna
akrumy32 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2011, 04:51 AM   #4 (permalink)

its a simple job to chop the coax and get another length and splice in with a couple of male and female mini UHF plugs, that you should be able to get from radio shack, the more metal around the antenna the better and the further away from any other radio the better, even ABS wires/loams can be effected.
jdboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2011, 09:23 AM   #5 (permalink)