Case IH 950....tips or pointers? - The Combine Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2013, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Case IH 950....tips or pointers?

Hi everyone,

So i just bought myself a very late model case 950 corn planter, 12 row vertical fold with liquid fertilizer. Was told it rolled off the line just as they finished with the 950s so supposedly it had alot of the 955 updates done to it. Anyway, its a one-owner machine, shedded all its life since new and rebuilt 2 years ago. It has the Early Riser 2 monitor. Anyone got any tricks or tips that one should know when running one of these units? Things to be aware of or watch out for?

Thanks a bunch!
young.farmer90 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2013, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)

I bought a 955 in November. I have no advice on actually planting with it (I'm a complete newb when it comes to Cyclo-Airs), but I'm itching to put it to use. First things first, did you get a manual with it? If not, do it now. These things have a rather steep learning curve. "Rebuilt two years ago" doesn't mean a lot to me without knowing how many acres it covered; it wouldn't hurt to take everything apart and inspect for wear. Make sure the discs are still sharp and the firming points aren't wore too much. Check the seed tubes for wear, they'll get a hole in every place they rub against something else (even another seed tube). Also, take the tubes out of the sensors and blow air through them to make sure they're not plugged with anything. Make sure the sensors are clean, too. I found that spiders like to make nests in them.