Sidedressing corn with Urea??? - The Combine Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2012, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Sidedressing corn with Urea???

This is my first year growing corn. After all the vasts of knowledge I have tryed to learn on the subject of corn I got my soil tests back. The cation exchange is an 11.1 I then learned you multiply that be 10 roughly and thats the hold and exchange compasity of your soils. Well this dosent help me because I was gonna pre-plant broadcast 225 units of Nitrogen. So now I need some advise on how to spoon feed the crop along. Pre-plant will be 115 units of N, Sidedress V3 to V-5 70 units N and finally another 60 before Tassel. I have low acres this year so I have Time to do more intensive managing then most. What do you think? Pros/cons of using urea? Ammonium Nitrate? Uan? and rates? Thanks for the help
Stacks443 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-15-2012, 07:50 AM   #2 (permalink)

I've been streaming on 50-60 lbs of UAN at planting and then broadcasting 150 lbs urea when corn is about knee tall. I always treat to urea with Agrotain to minimize volatilization
robmgrig is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2012, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)

thanks rob. The agrotine you are talking about. Is it the same as N-Zone the coating that keeps it from volitizing? I thought that would also work well since I am in heavy corn on corn Residue.
Old 03-15-2012, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)

Fogot to ask....should there be any worries to the urea burning the corn?
Old 03-15-2012, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)