New farmer needing advise - The Combine Forum

7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 03:43 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
New farmer needing advise

Hi I am looking for advise, I am new at this. I have 1000ac of cultivated land, have tractor and seeding tool, misc tillage items, discs, harrows etc.. I have everything to get a crop in the ground. Now out of money. So no grain storage, combine, grain truck. No sprayer. Not many custom operators around. I do not own hay equipment. I don't want livestock. What would you do at this point? From what I can see my options could be:
-rent the land to established farmer
-spend/borrow about $100,000 for 'pretty good' hay equipment
-spend/borrow the same amount and get some used storage bins and probably lower end combine and truck.
Not sure what to do, any money potential in this, or keep the day job (I would anyway, just not sure if I should keep throwing money into the farm or if it is a losing proposition). If there is money to be made then it is worth more investment I think. I am in Canada.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 04:09 PM

Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Where in Canada are u? How much per acre would u get for cash rent in your area?

post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 04:33 PM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
More questions..
What part of Canada? Is the land paid for? Will you live on or off the farm? What crops do you intend to grow? What is the crops/hayland ratio, does the type of land dictate that you have to grow both? I'm thinking of the time required to do both versus your job. Do you have help available... ie family or friends that are interested. Are you mechanically inclined, able to maintain and repair equipment? Do you have a farm background? If married does your wife favor the idea? If she is not on board forget it and rent it out.