Welding on Truck Frame - The Combine Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2013, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Welding on Truck Frame

I am building a pintle hitch for my semi truck and am wondering if it would be ok if I welded on the frame for added support for the hitch. I am planning on welding a heavy support bracket just behind my differential to add towing strength to the hitch. I will need to make a few welds to the frame to do this. My question is is it ok to weld on the truck frame or will it do damage or weaken the frame?
Mr Monk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-02-2013, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)

I'm no engineer, but I have experience in welding. What I would do is weld a plate on each frame rail to work from (this minimizes the heat put on the actual frame). Be sure to only weld the plates along the frame rails length ways on the edges only. Do not weld them across the face depth of the frame, just top an bottom length ways, on edges. Once your plates are in place, you are free to weld anything you like to them (the plates).
Mongoheadmonster is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2013, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)

It is always better to drill holes and then bolt to the main frame rails whatever you need to put on. Due to the twisting of the rails, welds will crack. If you need to mount some kind of support, build it to fit either inside or outside the rails and then bolt it in place. Do not attach anything to crossmembers.