The Combine Forum banner

greenstar brown box question

21K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  johndeere88 
#1 ·
Im returning to the farm after 20 years and Im starting to update "within the last 20 years" some equipment. Anyway I purchased a 1996 John Deere 9500 on auction that has John Deere Greenstar yield monitor. Everything except the display or a gps. Im very new to precion ag but can anyone tell me what I will need to get going. I can find original Greenstar displays for around a 1000$ but do I need a card that goes in it? are there unlocks or anything like that to worry about. One last question. I have an Ag Leader Integra monitor for my planter. is it possible to hook it up to the Greenstar system? Thank you

#2 ·
Mobile processor(bulky attachment for back of Brown box) are fairly easy to find and cheap. At least around here. The keycards are harder to find with autosteer keycards on the endangered species list. If you can find a keycard and a spare one for backup I would say let er rip, but you won't get much help from most JD dealers as almost all of their new "technology" people probably won't have any training on this system and your options of getting the yield maps off of the keycard memory are limited. If i remember correctly the autosteer unlock is on one keycard and the yield mapping (harvest doc) is on another keycard. I don't remember if they can be combined to one card. There are people who autosteer and yield map at the same time, so it is possible to do both, but I think? that you have to have 2 cards at the same time. The mobile processors have 2 slots in them for keycards.

I understand that there are budgets for projects like these, but if you plan on keeping this combine for more than a few years and really want/need to yield map I would do one of two things:

1) complete agleader kit (GPS, monitor, yield sensor, and moisture sensor)

2) Find a 2600 JD display and starfire receiver and ask dealer for harnessing to make it work.