The Combine Forum banner

Getting Field Ready John Deere 6600

20K views 31 replies 7 participants last post by  skylight62 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey Guys,

New to the Forum and new to combines as well. I just picked up a 6600 diesel with a 216 flex head.

Serial on it is 010143, so it's quite an early one. Does not have the rotary screen. We have 65 acres of beans this year and I hope to have everything running for harvest in a couple weeks.

It had some fingers missing from the main auger on the header. Got most of them in but the center ones seem impossible to get to.

Unloading auger hydraulic swing cylinder leaks and does not work

Brakes do not work at all

Engine seems good. It's a belt drive. Drove it home about 50 Km no issues.

As mentioned above, I'm very new to combines. We've been only farming about 5 years and this is our first combine. I got the manual online and will be reviewing it as much as possible. Just trying to understand all the settings and variables on the machine.

Looking for any tips and tricks with running these machines and any suggestions on what to look out for.

Thanks,

See less See more
#2 ·
Go thur the adjustments and maintenance sections on the manual. Doing those steps will give you an excellent feel for how the combine works.

These were good ole girls...very reliable for the most part. You may wish to check the grain shoe mount rubber bushings..a commonly overlooked spot that can ruin a shoe if they are out. The small bearings at the front of the pan augers (under the throat) are also prone to go out, esp. if it sets outside.

Don't stress too much about the stuffer fingers, a few out won't make a lot of difference in beans.

Replace 2 of the OEM field lights on the front with 2500 cp LED lights. You will be glad you did.

#3 ·
Right now there's only one working light. I'll have to check the wiring for the rest of them. The cylinder speed tach also did not move during my test and inspection. So that will need to be checked as well.