17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-12-2017, 02:58 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
S690 2017 performance

Hi fellow farmers!

I am new to this, so excuse if lacking.

I farm in South Africa Western Cape, wheat, barley and canola is my winter grains. Have been running S670's and fed up with the usual rotor loss under high flow problems. Need more capacity and speed. Looking to swath 70 feet with yields normally around 4t/ha. I am very loyal to my green brand and my whole fleet is green since forever.

I know that pre 2016 the John Deere S series still came up short. So Claas came to visit me with their Lexion 770's. Looks like a very productive harvester but not comfortable with the support and moving my relationship with green.

Ordered some S690's with "new 2017 spec" for what that's worth, thinking that at our yields picking 70feet at around 8km/h there will be no real difference between Lexion and John Deere seeing that the crop flow isn't that big, so Lexion will be under utilised and I can keep my green friends...

What is your thoughts??

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-12-2017, 03:22 AM

Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boerseun View Post
Hi fellow farmers!

I am new to this, so excuse if lacking.

I farm in South Africa Western Cape, wheat, barley and canola is my winter grains. Have been running S670's and fed up with the usual rotor loss under high flow problems. Need more capacity and speed. Looking to swath 70 feet with yields normally around 4t/ha. I am very loyal to my green brand and my whole fleet is green since forever.

I know that pre 2016 the John Deere S series still came up short. So Claas came to visit me with their Lexion 770's. Looks like a very productive harvester but not comfortable with the support and moving my relationship with green.