Alfalfa seed harvesting - The Combine Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2010, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)

Question Alfalfa seed harvesting

We haven't left our alfalfa for seed in quite a few years and combines have changed around here a couple times since then. The last combine we used for alfalfa was a TR98. We now have a CR9065 and not quite sure how it will work or how to set it. I was wondering if anyone out there has used a CR to harvest alfalfa seed? If so how was it set? We are either looking at adapting a pickup header or just waiting till after the freeze and cutting it with the draper header. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks
ks9065 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-21-2010, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)

I have lots of experience with TR's and Alfalfa Seed. But like you they are with the older models and not the newer CR's.
Setting the combine will be the same as the TR's. One Awning plate installed on front of each concave, high rotor speed 1500 or so, concaves tightened right up. Fan speed about 500, top sieve half open, and clean grain sieve closed tight.
We allways defoliate before we straight cut(Some use a honeybee draper, we use an auger head. Both will work fine.
I just bought a new CR 9070 today, but wont be on alfalfa seed for 10 days or so. I can let you know my setting at that time if you like.
Where are you located?
mjay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2010, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)

Do you run the top sieve open enough so pods that don't trash drop through and then go off the back of the bottom sieve and retrash? What do you do when you defoliate? I am located in central Kansas around Salina. Do you cut alfalfa for seed every year? It would be great to hear how the CR works and how you set it.
Old 09-22-2010, 09:15 AM   #4 (permalink)