Small Acreage Harvest - The Combine Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-29-2018, 10:11 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Small Acreage Harvest

Hi all, my first post so bare with me. I'm also new to the practice of producing grain so keep that in mind before you completely tear me down.

A little rundown of what I'm trying to do. I am building a small poultry farm on the Big Island of Hawai'i and because the price of importing feed is so expensive, I have begun to toy with the idea of processing my own. I have done some nutrition calculations to determine a complete diet for broilers and concluded that in my area both sorghum and oats should do fairly well. I'm looking to run around 5-8 acres of total production at one time. I understand that many of you will be scratching your head at why anyone would want to plant such small acreage but the cost to import, and the deterioration of quality of raw materials during transport really doesn't make sense either.

What has me going in circles right now is what type of harvesting equipment would be the most beneficial in a situation like mine? Some research on the internet has turned up a few mini combine rigs, mostly produced in India and China, but there is little information out there about people actually using them. There are also several brand names which all produce a very similar product.

My operation is very small and currently I run a BCS 853 walk behind tractor with multiple implements for most of my on farm tasks. One option is to purchase a sickle bar mower for the BCS and just lay out the crops and come back through and process everything by hand. I've seen some homesteaders take this route however I really would like to do things a little more efficiently.

Does anyone have anything that might help me out? Are there any dealerships in the lower 48 that might be able to provide some information?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement