Do precision drills lead to more compact soils? - The Combine Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-03-2019, 08:26 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Do precision drills lead to more compact soils?

We run a Borgault 3320 Paralink with Midrow banders and a 3/4 inch opener. I have been running a paralink for about 5 years now and have been noticing our soil becoming more compact. It has also been dry over these years so I'm sure that is not helping the case. The neighbours that are still using conventional c-shank drills don't seem to have the same compaction issues I have. With these precision drill and the narrow openers are we not moving enough dirt like a conventional c-shank with a 3 inch paired row? Is this leading to more compaction? I am thinking about going back to a c-shank even though I know the seed placement and emergence isn't as good but I am more worried about how hard our soil seems to be getting. Any one have any comments or theories on this?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-03-2019, 09:22 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 2747 Post(s)
The amount of tillage from any seeding tool will be very insignificant when it comes to influencing compaction. Any independent drill is going to be better than a c-shank drill for seed placement though.

Something else is going on IMO.

Welcome to the forum!

AN ERROR DOESN'T BECOME A MISTAKE UNTIL YOU REFUSE TO CORRECT IT
Orlando A. Battista
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 12:02 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Think its more the dry years, usualy we sink our spryer out of sight with 320 tires on there last 2 years we load up a 4830 full of 28-0-0 and you dont notice a thing
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 12:07 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)