Older MC grain dryers 400, 600, 800 etc - The Combine Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 10-15-2017, 03:49 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Barn
Older MC grain dryers 400, 600, 800 etc

I'm sure there are a bunch of these older dryers out and about... in our area they are getting pulled out and having the cobwebs brushed off and being put into use.
Perhaps a thread where owners could share tips and tricks that we have amassed over time could be beneficial to the community.
Even pictures of your set up could be useful on triggering ideas in new setups.

So here is my story.... we were sitting around feeling defeated by the weather.. days short day time temp low most of crops in the field still. A MC400 came up on kijiji and I made a deal and snapped it up... I think it's mid 1970's unit (no circuit boards) I am completely new to grain drying so in buying an older unit, I may have jumped in the deep end.

Here are my experiences.
I easily found owners manual to download and print online.
I needed to replace all belts (my wife will babysit it and I don't want an preventable problems) the owners manual actually lists all the actual belt sizes... this means i wad able to get all, even the wide 8 and 4 groove drive belts ftom Commercial Bearing (Motion Canada i believe) in Nisku the same day. The lady was very helpful in roundimg up what i needed from various warehouses. The belts fit perfectly
Directions for belt install and the important tensioning in the manual. I used a luggage scale and a welding rod bent in a triangle as a makeshift tension indicator.
The dryer is PTO driven I'm using a case 2090 with a 1000 to 540 adaptor so the tractor can run slower.