Silly irrigation question from a dryland guy - The Combine Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 04-06-2007, 06:41 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Silly irrigation question from a dryland guy

Being from a dryland area, I have little knowledge of pivots. I have an efficiency question.

When I see a full-circle pivot, (can travel 360 degrees), that makes perfect sense to me. When I see a pivot in an area that is too small for it, they will limit it to traveling 180 degrees, sometimes more, sometimes less. This is the part I don't understand. A pivot is an expensive investment, and the price goes up every time you add another section to it. So to me, seeing a pivot that can only do 180 degrees seems like it is not a very efficient use of money. The pivot costs the same amount, but is only able to cover half of the ground it could be. Thus the depreciation cost per irrigated acre is higher than a full-circle pivot would be.

At what point do you decide it isn't viable to put a pivot in a field that has an odd shape and won't allow for a full-circle operation? Less than 180 degrees, less than 90 degrees?

-Lance (irrigation noob)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 04-06-2007, 07:25 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Silly irrigation question from a dryland guy

You should know Lance that there are never any silly questions, only silly answers

I have always been told over here that the bigger the pivot, the cheaper it gets per acre (a 250 acre pivot will be cheaper per acre than say a 50 acre pivot).

In those odd shaped fields where pivots do 1/2 or 3/4 circles, I would think a linear move would be more sensible (better use of the available land area). That is one of the major problems that I have with pivots, the waste of land in the corners.

Cheers,

TC.

post #3 of 42 (permalink) Old 04-06-2007, 10:11 PM
beh
Administrator

Lance,