Solar winter water systems - The Combine Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-27-2014, 01:41 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Solar winter water systems

Has anyone tried the winter cattle watering systems like the cap solar or kellnsolar? We winter our cattle till january on a quarter with just a dugout and I am tired of the chopping and worries of falling through the ice... has happend a few times. Not to mention it wrecks the dugout with the manure on it.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-27-2014, 03:52 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
There wouldn't be enough drop to rig up a gravity system by chance. I guess that's one advantage to being in the hills. I have no experience with solar.

I'm thinking there's still some funding under Growing Forward yet? I have approvals for some water systems from this spring that I will be completing in the next couple weeks.

post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-27-2014, 04:44 PM Thread Starter

Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Nope... shes flat as can be. I havent either... just from what I have seen on videos and reading.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-27-2014, 08:42 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
I have not experimented with solar. I have used a propane trough heater that hangs on a stand I made for on the ice. It's interesting and okay, but I just don't like using it when the ice gets thicker and you have to move to deeper water.

This doesn't solve all of the problems you mentioned, but it sure takes the hard work out of it. This is a gasoline powered drill with a 2 inch bit and an extension. It's a Stihl brand tool. The hockey puck on the shaft is in case the bit pulls the extension out of the chuck when you break through. You just have to draw the bit up every 2 to 4 inches to clean out the cuttings so it doesn't pull too hard on the chuck.