Rodent Control - The Combine Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 02-23-2010, 12:56 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rodent Control

I am a hay farmer (alfalfa) and we rotate our fields about every seven years. In the last few years, we are being overrun with rodents - gophers, mice, voles, and moles. The little rodents are ruining fields that are only a year old or two. We have tried different forms of poison, carbon monoxide, and propane/oxygen injection with explosion. All of these methods have been costly and we still have problems. The only time we seem to get rid of them is in a flood, but there hasn't been a flood for five years. Any suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 02-23-2010, 08:52 AM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Re: Rodent Control

Take your water tank for spraying and 22 and start filling the holes with water.

post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 02-23-2010, 09:36 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)

What poisons have you tryed? Zinc phosphide? Zinc phosphide is an excellent small rodenticide. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zinc_phosphide
My state is faced with severe limitations on useage of rodenticides and moluskicides. We have to be very carefull and make sure no non-target species are not harmed. Zinc phosphide, properly placed, seems to do that quite well. It has virtually no secondary kill and the initial kill is as humane and quick as possible. The vole/mouse will ingest the bait, go into the hole and die quickly. The carcass then becomes an organic fertilizer as the poison, once mixed with the acid in the stomache, escapes as a gas in extremely low volumes.

With an anticoagulant, the vole/mouse will take a lot of time to die. It may go into the hole and then come back out to die where a non-target species like a bird of prey may ingest the rodent. The anticoagulant poison is still active in the rodent for quite some time after ingesting the poison.