Compatible GPS for AgOpenGPS - The Combine Forum
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2019, 01:02 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Compatible GPS for AgOpenGPS

Hi!

I am new to AgOpenGPS and the Combine Forum. I looking to setup AOG and AOG Autosteer. I was wondering if this Trimble DGPS Receiver (The link didn't work, so search ebay for this listing number: 173899691130) would work with AOG. The manual reads: NMEA-0183 output to external NMEA devices (supported messages are ALM, GGA, GLL, GSA, GSV, VTG, and ZDA).

Thanks in advance for any help and/or advice!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2019, 01:47 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Trimble-DGPS...UAAOSw~plc1mdF

I think that would be the link.

I looked quickly for the manual and could not find it. As long as it outputs nmea messages it will work, but...
Depending on what you want to do with aog there are a few things to consider.
If you want to just do light bar guidance and mapping a gps that has a refresh rate of 5hz and a connection speed to the computer of 19200baud you will be good. My limited experience with older survey gps systems is that is all they are capable of since they are not mapping moving equipment.
If you want to do autosteer I highly recommend a rtk system with a 10 hz update rate. Lets face it, aog and all other systems depend on a good gps position. I think I still have a lump on the side of my head from loosing rtk at 13mph and the sprayer trying to hit the "new" position. Not to mention it is also harder to tune aog if your location keeps moving.

BrianTee and lgrocholl like this.

You get what you put in and people get what the deserve. - Kid Rock

The more seriously you take things, the harder the rules become.

If it is broken, fix it. If it isn't broken, I'll soon fix that.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2019, 04:48 PM Thread Starter