The Combine Forum banner

Ardusimple RTK Questions

4K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  tmatt 
#1 ·
I am very new to the idea of do-it-yourself GPS. I currently have an Ag Leader Intregra with a OnTrac 2+ steering system that I run on WAAS with a GPS 6500. I have been wanting to upgrade to RTK precision and have been reading up on the Ardusimple units. I am blown away by the price that they sell for compared to the big name stuff. It seems to good to be true. Are there any limitations to the Ardusimple setups?

I am a small farmer with fields located close together. My goal is repeatability year to year. I am considering the Long Range kit and have no problems building permanent spots to return the base to year to year if the range is not far enough for one point. I have read up on how to connect to the serial output, but is it pretty much plug and play after that?

Thanks!

#4 · (Edited)
Can the OnTrac 2+ accept GPS from an external source and use it for steering? Is there a serial input port on the OnTrac? EDIT: I think so. The manual states it's compatible with most GPS receivers, so as long as you give it the proper NMEA sentences, it should go.

I believe the ArduSimple kit can probably work for you but will require some assembly. What I mean is that it's just a bare board. You'll have to put it in an enclosure, and provide a TTL to RS232 converter to convert the serial output to RS232 to feed into the OnTrac. Also you'll have to use the u-center computer program (which is a bit hard to use) to configure it to output the NMEA strings that the OnTrac requires (which I don't know but could guess at), and set the serial port speed.

The base station unit will need a bit of configuration as well to enable survey-in mode (or if it's never going to move, fix it's coordinates).

If you can do this, or get someone to help sit down with you and set it up, it could work!

#5 · (Edited)