John Deere 7720 maintenance - The Combine Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-03-2016, 01:05 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
John Deere 7720 maintenance

Hi, this is my first year owning a combine, I'm just getting started in custom work. Besides changing the oil, what other oils are there to change. I'd like to change the hydrostatic oil and hydraulic oil, how often should that be done. I also would like to know of any other spots where gear oil may be used. I think there is one by the dual cylinder drive and the gear reverser for header as well. I know I may be missing some, Is there one by the loading auger? Thanks for the help

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-03-2016, 07:28 PM

Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Unless you have the service records of the combine it probably would be worth the time and money to change all the oils.
The Hyd filter is in the tank and so is the hydro.
The hopper fill auger gear box is grease not oil, the unload auger has a greaseable bearing at the bottom and at the top there is a grease nipple at the elbow.
There is a grease nipple for the main power shaft off the motor under the cab. Its not one you can see but if you put your hand in there you will feel it. This is one area that gets missed a lot of the time.
Good luck with your new purchase.

When life gives you lemons
Break out the Tequila
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by V876; 02-03-2016 at 07:38 PM.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-03-2016, 08:05 PM

Quoted: 54 Post(s)
when I got my 8820 I changed the reverser oil, final drives, transmission, hydro, hydraulic, two speed cylinder. in the hydraulic and hydrostatic tanks there is a filter.

got a new copy of the owners manual and made sure I could find all the grease zerks and they all worked.