Macdon D65,2014,45ft vrs 3152 45ft case - The Combine Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-04-2014, 11:40 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Macdon D65,2014,45ft vrs 3152 45ft case

I have been running Macdon rigid drapers for the past 15 years. As Case is now promoting their front has anyone used one of these and how do they compare to the Macdon. It will be going on a 2014 8230 Case and will be stripping mainly sorghum 60% of time, chickpeas and cereals the other 40% of the time. The New Case front is relatively new in Australia and 25% cheaper than the Honeybee or Macdon equivelant. How do the new case fronts feed, travel, float etc.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 03:33 AM Thread Starter

Thanks FJ for that, I certainly don't want to be doing the R&D for case re this header front. The first one of these types of fronts in Australia was trialled near me earlier this year, the guy who eventually bought it ended up taking it back after half a season and got a Macdon. To cut a long story short the problems this guy experienced were due to the PD set up apparently, but I am still not convinced.
I see what you are talking about with the knife so low compared to the draper belt and I can see problems with the reel being unable to clear the knife and feed the draper mat at the same time.
As there is next to zero of these fronts running in Aus it's basically US/Canada feedback that I can rely on in making a decision. I know my Dealer will support me 100% but with all the other associated dramas re harvest and growing crops I don't know if it's worth the risk.

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 05:11 AM
HI!

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 4634 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerjones View Post
Isn't that one of those taller than normal cans?
471 vs 355 ml I think but same diameter?
If it was Kokanee I'd understand. Or Pepsi.
Either way, appears to be quite a dead spot.