F2 header height control - The Combine Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-23-2018, 07:49 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
F2 header height control

I'm beginning to think that I'm not seeing an additional switch here. All I know is the hydraulic valve has to be in the float position and the off low med hi switch turned on. I see no other switch other that the reel raise and header clutch. I know nothing about the operating procedure. I can make it move by moving the contact springs against the sensors. What am I missing here? I would think that you shouldn't have to take it out of float/ or manipulate the off low med hi switch to raise and lower the head. If anyone has an idea please respond asap. Thanks
Non-hydro machine serial # 47xxx. Agco Partsbook shows a later dash configuration that has switch handle and harness for a hydro machine and a harness for the non hydro. Could a combine come thru with all the hydraulics and controls and no momentary switch. I'm going to look this morning if there is a plug in the header height control wiring for that. There is a picture on the dash of what I think is header height control between the reel raise/lower and header clutch switches, but no cutout for the switch.


Last edited by Angus4u0; 11-23-2018 at 08:13 AM.
Angus4u0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-23-2018, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Jeff-C-IL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
I'm not at all familiar with the F2 combine---It looks quite different than the L/M systems. I'm pretty familiar with the 3 position spring system, but I have no idea how it could have been applied on a F2. You say you can make it move by moving the contact springs against the sensors...well, yes, that is how it works. The float motion of the cutterbar moves the contact bars against the springs, sending a raise and lower signal back to the controller in the dash. It was supposed to be enabled by tapping the down switch on the hydro handle--which you don't have.... The thing is, if doing that makes the header move, then its working. You just need to figure out how it turns on/off for manual control.

Its's possible that your machine was updated to the 3 position, but without the hydro handle raise/lower rocker, IDK how you would enable/disable auto. I'm attaching a schematic of the 3 position system from a R62 combine...IDK if it will help you or not. Note you need power from the header clutch, and that the Raise lower switch is what turns the controller on/off.

I'm also attaching the M2 schematics for the original 1 position microswitch system. NO idea if they will help.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg R62 Early AHC Schem.jpg (317.9 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg m2 001.jpg (786.4 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg m2 002.jpg (921.4 KB, 4 views)

AHHC specialist
Jeff-C-IL is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-23-2018, 03:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Didn't the F2 use the "Genie" mechanical system with a cable activated valve up on the side of the cab?
mavisie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-23-2018, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
After reviewing all the information, the first thumbnail appears familiar. My plan of attack is to pull the control module and trace the wires, now that I know the colors, to where the switch should be. Thanks for printing that out. I'll give you an update of what I find.
Angus4u0 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-24-2018, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Jeff-C-IL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavisie View Post
Didn't the F2 use the "Genie" mechanical system with a cable activated valve up on the side of the cab?
Factory, yes....no. Many options over the years on those machines. And then you have a lot of smart techs over the years who upgraded them...(I pity the poor guy who buys my old combine and tries to use the OEM schematics.....)

FInally found what I believe is the applicable parts page. Your combine is earlier than the s/n break, so it had to be added later. I'm pretty sure what you are looking for is Item 15 on the attached clip. That would be the switch replacing the Hydro switch. Just a thought---does your combine have a switch in the ladder lift spot (#22)...w/o ladder lift? That's what I would have done if I was installing that system aftermarket.
Attached Images
File Type: png F3 AHHC.PNG (251.3 KB, 5 views)

AHHC specialist
Jeff-C-IL is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-24-2018, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
No switch in the ladder lift spot.
There is a black plastic relay mounted on the bottom of the fuse door. I know that works because it clicks when you turn on the three position switch.
I know I have to do a little more tracing, but the wiring appears to be correct up to the 3 circuit disconnect before the elusive header height switch. There is only two wires coming out of that disconnect, and they don't go to a switch. They are heading somewhere else. Need to do a little more investigating, but it may be possible to jumper it right there to send power to the raise/lower circuit. Let me do a little more investigating.
Angus4u0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Combine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R62 header height control fish1 Gleaner 4 07-18-2016 12:03 PM
Header height control compatibility johninny Gleaner 1 01-26-2016 05:38 PM
Case 7120 header height control coastal Case IH 5 12-01-2015 11:21 PM
Active Header Height Control Problem deakinfarms John Deere 1 03-29-2015 10:33 PM
9860 STS Header height control deeredriver1 John Deere 1 09-06-2014 05:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome