The Combine Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Vehicle Transport Mode of transport Construction equipment Commercial vehicle

I bought this Lexion last week. I have a few question, because I'm new to farming. The combine is a 05 with 1450 separator hours 2wd. I gave 50k.
Questions.
1. Did i get ripped off?
2.What kind and size heads are a good fit?
3.Inspection show rotary bearing may need to be changed, dealer said $2200 installed, is that a good price?
4.Know any good combine haulers. Combine in Ghent ,MN.
5. What is a good spare parts list. No dealers around me.

Thanks for any help

·
Registered
2,945 Posts
Ziegler seems to be very good IMO. I think 50k is a great price for the capacity. I think you can throw another 25k+ at it if it really needs it and be ok, and have a more reliable, capable machine.

hhsparts.com is a good aftermarket site for a few things that you might want.

I would change oil in the gearboxes. Use what Ziegler would recommend or get a very good synthetic like Amsoil. A few belts such as the APS and impeller belt would be good to have. Metric bolts/nuts and wrenches will be needed.

Claas has good heads. I don't know what you are really wanting. The newer 1050 and larger 1200 maxflex seem very good but maybe more than you want to spend. The deere 630/635 heads are good and popular and getting very cheap. Claas has good corn heads also.

·
Ooohhh Deere
1,975 Posts
Gee, sounds like the sheriff will be looking for that serial number:D
Good buy!

40' Macdon is the front you want for that machine, (flexxy if your budget allows otherwise a rigid works very well). Max flows look pretty hanging of the feeder house but are just a heap of @&!!"#*. Well they are over here in OZ at least.

I will agree with above statement about JD corn fronts are good. I have only dealt with one Claas/Cat front but I was very impressed with its ability.