The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to case combines i upgraded from a 860 massey I plugged the rotor 3 times in one day. Was combining lentils feed some green oats in once then some weeds twice. Rotor speed was set at 310 rpm and every time I plugged it went right to zero and alarm came on. Did not stall engine and belt I think looks ok. It is a 1997 case 2188 any ideas thinking the old massey will be doing a lot of combining again I am tired of unplugging the case

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
When I do lentils I'm running 450 rpm. Make sure rotor belt is adjusted properly. This is in manual. Make sure all belt tighteners springs are adjusted up to pipes. Which rotor do you have? I was plugging the afx rotor in my 2388 on peas last year a lot. I put on a set of Kile KXF impellers and rotor transition bars. I can still plug in tough conditions but it is harder to plug and I don't plug as bad as last year. If you have a specialty rotor a Kile KRF kit will help or axceller kit. Read articles on Harvest Services website on how the IH rotaries work.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Im not familiar with lentils either . Rotor speed seems low. If the rotor speed is dropping to 0 that easy without dragging down or killing engine sounds like a belt problem. I have had tensioner pulleys break. Rotor still worked but would not take load. The adjustment rod can wear where it slides through the little rocker and get stuck so it will not tension properly. The rotor pulleys may not be adjusted properly or the that is like a snowmobile belt could be worn enough so its not holding. Book gives measurements for these adjustments. I can adjust rotor speed to low on my 2388 and make it slip because the driven pulley can not self adjust far enough. If belt looks ok I think increasing rotor speed will probably fix it.

·
Registered
1,618 Posts