The Combine Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 2388 with a 30ft IH flex draper the dealer is putting the header on the machine. I know the draper is heavy do I need extra weight on the rear and third hyd lift cylinder on the machine?

·
Registered
277 Posts
i was just looking at the manual and it said for a 30ft flex you are suppost to have weights in back. If thats the case a flex draper would need weights forsure. But i dont know im new to these machines as well.

·
Registered
187 Posts
If it was me I would. You could get by without it but it will lift better and be much more stable with the weights in the back. Good luck.

·
Registered
102 Posts
When I had a 2388 with a 30' mac Don 973 on it, the very first day I had it out I did about 20 acres then had the local tire place put fluid in the rear tires. It was really unstable. It added about 900 lbs I think. That helped out tremendously. I don't think you need the third cylinder. It worked fine for me just having the two. You just had to have a high idle to get it to raise the header high enough for the lock out to engage.

·
Registered
475 Posts
We put a 30ft 973 on our 2188 this year and didn't bother with the fluid or cast weight. What a mistake! I was bootin down the road at 19mph and pulled back on the hydro to avoid a big lump of dirt that the grader left on the side of the road. Can anyone guess how high the back wheels would be off the ground if the header was only 6" off the ground? I have no idea and I don't want to know.

·
Registered
3,334 Posts
put some fluid in the tires and well

you will find out when you hook it up if you need the 3rd lift cylindar lol.

i hooked our 2388 to our 36ft and it lifted it a half of a inch.

called the boss and ordered a lift cylinder.

·
Registered
48 Posts