The Combine Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am completely new at using my N5 in beans and I keep having issues with my 320 header plugging up, it plugs up the auger right were it feeds it in to the feeder house. However the feeder house it self never plugs just the grain head. Any ideas on what settings or adjustments i need to do to eliminate this issue? Sorry for the ignorance but I have only ran corn with this N5 and before that I have only been around IH's and Deere's all which has only been in corn. Thanks!

·
Registered
549 Posts
There ought to be a slip/friction clutch on the auger and a lot of times they need to be tightened. Check that first. What kind of shape are the auger feeder fingers in? Any missing?Could the auger flighting be worn so it won't pull the material through.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I had trouble with beans feeding on a 500 series header this year, they would bunch up and travel to center of auger in clumps then plug auger. I did two things to the header. First, was to grind a sharp square edge on the flighting with an angle grinder. Take the chain off the end of aguer so you can rotate it easily. Second thing I did was replace the two friction plates even though they had good thickness, mine were badly glazed. Not sure which made the biggest help but beans fed evenly and haven't plugged it again.

·
Registered
407 Posts