The Combine Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there any room for a small timer in this forum? I've been reading a lot in here over the last few days, great stuff, but the posters all seem to be huge operators.

I'm looking for advice on how to grow and how to get there. I'm a part time farmer with about 250 acres under management. I'm starting to take the farm over from Dad, and in the meantime my sister (only other child) wants "bought out". My first "major" investment personally to the farm was a 4420 combine, 4 row corn head, 13ft platform. It is a "corn-bean-grain" combine according to the book and labeling, and I've already used it for all 3. It had 2000 engine hours on it, no idea about sep hrs. I've had some repair issues, but not bad yet. I'm located North of what might be called mid-Michigan. If you get your butt in the field and not get stuck, you can grow 95 day corn. I went this route with the combine to chase the ethanol induced corn prices.

What are the thoughts on this machine? How do you guys decide on debt load for new land, or should I just rent? I'm hoping to maybe get a land contract with a balloon payment so I can start paying small amounts, and hopefully build up some operating funds, then have a down payment to finance the land conventionally.

Any thoughts on growth rate, machinery advice, etc. would help. I'm in the market for a 4wd (fwa) All around work horse tractor for tillage and corn chopping.

·
Super Moderator
5,952 Posts
Hi,

Welcome to the board
Glad to see another new farmer!

Not all of us are 'huge' operators (I guess that depends on your definition of the word), heck I'm just another little guy with 1,400 acres...

I inherited the farm, just like you did, from my parents. It was a bit rushed, and caught me un-prepared, which I did pay for - you shouldn't have that problem though, I would imagine