The Combine Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are the top ground speeds in each gear (1-4) for a 7120 with planetary final drives? Do the top speeds vary with the 4WD engaged? I have not been able to find this information on the web site or in the owner's manual.

·
Registered
620 Posts
With 42" duals and planetary finals approx max speed observed, 2nd gear 4wd-4.5mph 2wd-7.0mph, 3rd gear 4wd-7.2mph 2wd-11.4, 4th gear 2wd-22.1mph. Don't know what 1st gear will run at have not used it.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks redhat, I take it you had to go by experience and not published info. When I drove the new machine to the shop after it was unloaded, 17.5 mph was about all I could get. I had it in 4th, but couldn't remember whether they had left the 4WD on while unloading. Since I'm new to red combines, I was more interested in dodging the traffic and watching for low limbs than I was trying to stop in the road to figure out why I was going so slow in 4th. With all the rain and mud I haven't gotten it back out of the shed to try out my 4WD vs. 2WD theory. I did not get the HI-LO option because I didn't think I needed it, but wasn't going to be too happy with 17-18 mph for top road speed.

Thanks for the reply,

·
Registered
460 Posts
Did you engage the transport lock out switch (the switch that looks like a road under a bridge). If it is not pushed the combine will only transport at about 17.5 mph.

·
Registered
657 Posts
jmark71 i did same thing until called dealer and he told me to push road transport button and went up to 21 mph it is the switch that looks like a road

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·