The Combine Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a 922 flex to go on my 7720. How do I hook up the fore and aft reel and what do I need for automatic reel speed? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
340 Posts
I run a 920 on my 6620 T2 and I've never needed to move the fore-aft. Which means I never tried to figure out how to hook it up. As far as the reel speed, I run it "by the seat of my pants" by using the reel speed adjusting knob. It works fine for me, but then again,,, I don't know any better. lol
I do find though that as conditions change during the day, I sometimes need to run the reel slower or faster while ground speed stays the same. That makes me wonder just how useful the automatic feature may be over the long haul, but like I said,,, I don't know any better.

·
Registered
718 Posts
When i was a mechanic at the local JD dealer, we set up a 7720 for reel fore-aft. We had to install a splitter valve in the cab and tap into the auger swing circuit. So if you moved the splitter valve to the reel position, you just used the auger swing handle to adjust the reel fore-aft. This was a fairly simple thing to install. As for the reel speed, i'm not sure what you need, so i won't even venture a guess.

·
Registered
45 Posts
If you go to your dealer you should be able to get a parts list and a picture of the plumbing to run for/aft, then only trick is the special fitting you have to put in the valve to get power to the new valve you add. Auto reel speed would not be economical and to many parts to get to work, if I explained how it worked, just trust me on that, but the fore/aft is not that bad. I have done many of them. GL

·
Registered
117 Posts