The Combine Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G,day everbody,
I've been running a 8820 for the last 22 years, & am about to step up to a 9760, will i notice any difference? ha... ha, just kidding.
I know nothing about sts's so will be searching all the old threads as i only just found this forum. Is there any basic things i should know? machine is 3years old with 900hrs. Still am a bit confused about the different concaves, one bloke told me he has 2 sets, 1 for wheat & 1 for sorghum(milo), another bloke i know says he pulls wires out for certain crops. Mainly grow sorghum/wheat sometimes chickpea/sunflower/feedcorn.
cheers sixmill

·
Registered
23 Posts
G'day from a fellow Qlder Where are you situated? I would say you would need two sets of concaves in this part of the world if you grow sorghum and wheat I run a Case but I would say same deal with Green ones. Should be double your old header.
cheers craig.

·
Registered
144 Posts
You will the increased capacity with the 9760 over the 8820. So far, we have had good luck with ours. Only down side is they're a pain to work, lol. You would need two sets of concaves. That way, you don't take the time to remove wires. Just swap them and go. Enjoy!

·
Registered
486 Posts
You wil find the 9760 to be a very good header! but watch out for a few things when buying a used one.

1. There is a shaft just behind the fan housing. On it are two offset bearings each side that is connected to the arms that moves the shoe. They have about a thousand hours life expectancy so just change them straight away. If they fail, the header really starts to self destruct. they are about a 100 dollars each, and they are pretty easy to change. and the ramifications of not doing them are way more than a 400$ as it will start to smash the support arms that holds up the entire shoe.

2. You will need a set of the big wire concaves, and a set of small wires.