The Combine Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A buddy of mine has a 9750 that will not run. It started out as,"the fuel filters are plugged". Changed filters,helped for a little bit. Then they said the filter in the bottom of the tank,is plugged. So we drained 200 gallon of fuel.Cleaned the filter in the tank above the pit ****. Still no better. Shelling through the field,dies,then starts right up. Will die on every through in 1/4 mile field. Now it dies just driving it in the field ,even when it is not under load. Deere cant find it.I told him you guys might be able to help.
Thanks,
Illinois Gleaner

·
Registered
330 Posts
I have no previous experience with JD rotor machines, but have you checked the entire fuel line from the tank to the fuel pump on the engine? Check that nothing is blocking it (in case of a defect filter) and check that the line is intact - that it hasn't been dented/squeezed from something hitting it...

Let us know how it goes!

- Peter

·
Registered
11 Posts
I'll bet my bottom dollar it is not a fuel problem, it's electronic. Try unplugging you greenstar stuff on the right side; yield, moisture, ect. The big harness on the side of the elevator. You won't need the tech for that and it's easy.

If that doesn't work, have the Deere tech run the diagnostics flow chart for both the armrest and corner post computer boards and the return sensor system, he should have the book with the flow charts. In my experience, an armrest board failure starts with symptoms like this until finally the engine will die and not restart, normally in the middle of the road.

When you do them, don't ignore the mass flow sensor for the return in the flow chart thinking it should not affect the engine, because it does. If your master sensor in your return elevator is bad it will make an STS do just what you talking about also.

I have had several STS's do this in the past and these are where I found the problems. Hope it helps.