The Combine Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
I have a DT with a powershift, if you have access to a CVT go for that. I regret purchasing a powershift for a grain cart tractor, the gap is too large between gears. Ive had zero problems with it, but the cvt is alot better option when you have an old timer with tired knees running the cart. I think the transmission is made by fendt, so we know its not a junk manufacturer.

·
Registered
420 Posts
We had an 8280 which had the powershift, this got replaced with an 8480 DynaVT and we have had 2 8600's and have an 8700 on order. We don't keep them out of warranty.

To use the CVT is better than any transmission I have ever used before and as an operator I'd not want to go back to a powershift. The 8480 had transmission problems and I'm not sure who paid for it, but thing Agco warrantied it. The other 7 we have had have been faultless.

From a longevity point of view DynaVT SHOULD be better because it has separate transmission and hydraulic oil supplies so one cannot contaminate the other.

Personally I don't rate full powershifts very highly anyway and think a good semi powershift is better like Dyna Shift. You can get Dyna 6 with that amount of power now, but you didn't tell us your budget.

Ideally CVT, then semi powershift then full powershift.

·
Registered
420 Posts
Did you like the 8280 WillyNilly? Not to highjack the thread but I'm looking at a 1999. It's got the funk ps I believe
I never drove it and it's been gone for 9 years now. It replaced a 7250 Pro Magnum, which is the same as an 8950 and was one of the very last before the MX's were launched. The self employed driver who owed the tractor at the time said it was a major step forward.

Obviously these are old tractors now and it is more important that the tractor you are looking at has been take care of.

The Masseys have served us well in the 12 years we've been running them.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·