The Combine Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

Got a requirement for calcium and sulfur for a field. What is a "typical" analysis of gypsum for figuring? I need 189 lb/A Ca, 28 for S. Also need some Mg, any sources for that if I try to do it?

·
Registered
4,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
OK, I'm confused. Well, ignorant of how this works is really a more accurate statement.

I'm also putting lime, dolomitic lime, on the field. Which is CaMg(CO3)2.
Gypsum is CaSO4 - 2H20

So, is the Mg in the lime a source for Mg then, or is it tied up? How about the Ca, same question? If I figure Gypsum for total Ca, I get a crap ton of S. If I get some Ca out of the lime, and put on less Gypsum, it would be more optimal perhaps? The lime recommmendation is for pH only, I don't know how it works in supplying these nutrients.

I've never used this lab before / paid for this detailed of an analysis. I'm used to seeing recommended lime / A for pH, and N-P-K for deficit and crop removal.

·
Registered
364 Posts
Don't use dolomite lime it's basically snake oil. Get lime sand if available with the highest neutralising value possible. What's are your ph levels & what increase are you aiming ?
Nothing wrong with the extra sulfur it's basically free., can allow you to use a cheaper source of granular fertiliser with out the S in it.

·
Registered
4,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Don't use dolomite lime it's basically snake oil. Get lime sand if available with the highest neutralising value possible. What's are your ph levels & what increase are you aiming ?
Nothing wrong with the extra sulfur it's basically free., can allow you to use a cheaper source of granular fertiliser with out the S in it.