The Combine Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a John Deere service tech and the other day we had a call from a customer with a 9550 and a bad vibration...

So I go and check it out and the primary countershaft is vibrating in its gearcase. As I am pulling this apart, I discovered a grease zerk behind the electric clutch. The owner of the machine was helping me get the clutch to the ground and he said "Well I never knew that was there."

On a 9550 the service chart is right on the ladder; he quickly pointed out that it wasn't on there...I told him it was probably in the book. Looked in the book and there was nothing. I pulled up service advisor and could find no reference to this grease fitting on the lube chart, and on our 2 combines, a 9550 and a 9560 STS.
I took some pics to show where it is, and show that the diagram is not there, nor has it ever been greased. I also worked on a brand new 9660sts, happend to glance at it as well. No reference, and the fitting is still there

Has anyone else seen anything like this, known that this fitting was there, or had problems? No one at my dealership knew anything about it

Heres the pics

·
Registered
21 Posts
That fitting is only meant to de filled with grease after a shaft or gearcase rebuild and is mentioned in tech manual to be filled with grease before tightning nut on shaft onLH side which is there to prevent shaft from seizing into gearcase and should theretically have nothing to do with wear as LH nut forces electric clutch and primary gearcase against shoulder of shaft with about 250lbs of torgue-------normallt you can get away with replacing worn electric clutch hub and nut and i always torgued it more than spec in book as i have done quite a few of these

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes thats all true, however, the splines on the countershaft were wore so bad they were sharp.

·
Registered
21 Posts