The Combine Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Later axial flows used a different auger in the very LH location that had different flighting and rotated in the opposite direction. I believe this change was made so the auger tended to throw the grain to the center of the cleaning shoe instead of tossing it towards the outside. Did this change make a noticeable increase in capacity? Would it be worth the cost of the auger to convert an earlier machine over to the later style? This would be on a short shoe 1660, with a std rotor and Kile AFX kit, so the shoe capacity may tend to be the limiting factor. Doing corn and soybeans only.

Thanks!

·
Ken Adams
1,359 Posts
I have no corn or soybean experience! But in wheat I feel it is a good mod. Helps a bit with loss off very left side of chaffer, especially on side slopes when left side of machine is lower than right.
Changed auger on two machines. Both long shoe, 1st an 1482 when auger drive was all apart and on a 1688, where I was able to do by just removing left bearing on auger, shoe drive.

·
Registered
594 Posts
Just changing out the auger doesn't do anything. But when you add the flap to it is when it'll start throwing grain to the center. In some crops and certain machine settings the left and/or right side of sieve can load up heavily. When this happens you can clamp the flap to the corresponding auger to help distribute grain. But unless you put in the reverse flighted auger on LH side, a flap on LH side will not help

·
Registered
9,738 Posts