The Combine Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are looking at a 9370 with a standard 12 speed transmission. Any reason to stay away from this transmission? Are parts issues real? Should I expect to need parts? Tractor has less than 5000 hours on it and appears to be taken care of. Any other reasons to steer clear of this tractor or even a 9350 with a 12 speed standard?

·
Registered
9,738 Posts
I have little experience with that tranny but I have never heard of any major problems, if there is big equipment would find or make parts, I wouldn't worry about it unless you could find a powershift for close to the same price cause I know them trannys were about bomb proof and the convenience factor

·
Registered
1,568 Posts
Call Big Tractor Parts and ask about parts availability. My neighbor has a 12 speed, and it seems miserable to shift compared to the 20 speed in my green Steiger.

·
Registered
44 Posts
my neighbor had a standard trans in a TJ series new holland and got so sick of shifting it packing silage that he rebuilt his silage pit so he could just drive in circles all day.

If its just a field tractor then its not such a pain but its something to consider

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
certain parts are hard to find or non existent these days. Even 15 years ago there was trouble getting parts, we had a 9280 sit in the field for over a month because of this. Sold it shortly after getting fixed, but now have a 9270 with same trans for our second outfit. Makes me nervous having it around knowing parts aren't available if something happens.

·
Registered
44 Posts
certain parts are hard to find or non existent these days. Even 15 years ago there was trouble getting parts, we had a 9280 sit in the field for over a month because of this. Sold it shortly after getting fixed, but now have a 9270 with same trans for our second outfit. Makes me nervous having it around knowing parts aren't available if something happens.