The Combine Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been running pre emerge corn herbicide lumax for many years. In our soybeans broadleaf control is a non issue due to planting conventional soybeans.

I am looking at spraying atrazine pre with fertilizer followed by roundup at 18-24 inches tall with fertilizer program.
If I need to I can run roundup with the first pass.

I have sandy soil so foxtails are a consistent issue.
The timing of the second pass of chemical can and likely will be adjusted to weed pressure.

Has anyone done something similar and what do you think? Its cheaper, but I have a two pass fertilizer program last year and I will be covering the acres anyways.

·
Registered
435 Posts
That is a good option, but I think you might throw in something like "warrant" (acitochlor) with the atrex. it should help with grass but would be cheaper than the Dual II mag. that is in the Lumax, but warrant is a (15) and Dual is a (15) same family of chem, but different pathway, so it might get some of the resistant foxtail....you should check, but I think you can put warrant on post with roundup, to extend the residual window......

Grass kills yield, so it is important not to get caught by it!

·
Registered
4,919 Posts
Used to run Harness Xtra 5.6L pre followed by 22 oz weathermax, never had an issue. Replaced the weathermax with Impact to break resistant weeds showing up in soybeans. Tried flat atz on a few acres as a test several years ago followed by a post and wasn't satisfied.