The Combine Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently turned 18 and have started the process of going for my Class 1 license with Air Brake endorsement. I am studying up for the written tests which I will likely do in the next week and after that I will be doing the 20hr "farmers" course at United Driver Training.

I drove tandem grain trucks all summer hauling silage and have driven our single axle grain trucks for several years, also driven a little bit of semi at my cousins farm. I am looking for some tips and tricks from you guys who have been through these programs recently or have lots of experience with trucking in general. What are the instructors looking for? How hard is the test? General advice on how to drive better? Etc.

Thanks

·
Registered
148 Posts
For written tests I would advise going online and taking practice tests, it really helps to show the types of questions they will ask. I just took my Class A CDL license this year and taking practice tests online helped me a ton for the written part especially the air brake test.

For the skills/driving portion of the test the pre-trip inspection is probably the part that needs to be studied the most, for me that's what it was anyway, you need to be able to specifically tell the instructor what you are checking and why. They want to here KEY words as you explain what you are doing during the pre-trip inspection.