The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We got 15" of snow monday, and now our corn has snow on it. I've heard that you can harvest so long as the temperature is below 20 degrees, and the snow will blow through. Any truth to this? Any insight on this will be much appreciated, as I still have 100 acres to combine, and it doesn't look like the snow will be melting anytime soon.

·
Super Moderator
5,042 Posts
In small grains it has to be colder than that

20 may not be cold enough is the only thing.
With all the heat sources the combine has parts may get above freezing and the snow start sticking.
You can still heat the cab though.

·
Registered
3,595 Posts
I have zero experience with corn but did want to point out that the sun becomes your enemy when trying to keep surfaces cold as objects will warm up more then the actual outside temperature, meaning plant surfaces and the snow on them as well as the combine. If your able to combine at night or start very early in the morning might be to your benefit and keep checking those sieves constantly for build up and hopefully shut down before you end up with a big mess in the back that is hard to unthaw if it doesn't warm up enough to melt off.

·
Registered
4,799 Posts
Jus did 60 acres with snow on it a couple days ago. -10 celcius would be ideal and if it's cloudy that is a good thing. Get out and check the sieves a couple times when you start. Make sure you have stalk stompers or you will ruin your tires in 100 acres unless they line up between the rows which they probably do. It sucks and cleaning off the header and combine after suck even worse.

·
Registered
79 Posts