The Combine Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to get my auto header height to work on my combine. And I don't know if i'm just not setting it up properly or if its not working or what I'm doing really. I only have one season on the combine so I'm still learning it. Just picked up a 74c header this spring, and have never had a straight cut header before so learning it as well.

I put the header on and I can set my stubble height and max height fine. But when I drive along and put one side of the header along my ditch so it touches the ground the header will not raise at all. Am I mistaken or if it has the sensors on it should it not follow the contours of the ground like a pick up header would?

I've done a header calibration. I've selected my header type (tried draper and grain not sure which one to use). I don't know what else to do. What am I missing or forgetting?

Also, how do you choose between autofloat and stubble height? sometimes the combine does one and sometimes the other and I'm not understanding how it selects it or if I can make it do one or the other?

·
Registered
1,272 Posts
OK. FIrst, lets start with the FUN part---the combine selects which height mode to be in--and you have NO control over that. (Brilliant, right??).

As far as making this work, I assume you are operating this in FLEX mode, not off ground rigid mode. There is one minor difference that must be dealt with, but for now I'm going to assume Flex.

The next problem we need to clear up....in 2008/2009 NH switched from a 10V Bosch AHC system to a 5V CNH AHC system. The two are not compatible. It is possible that your header is set up with the 5V sensors, not the Bosch 10V sensors. Not real common, but I have seen it.