The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,644 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is everyone doing for desiccation with glyphosate on cereals? Have been doing a little every year but this year we bought a draper header so will be straight cutting as much as possible. How much water volume? What equivalent rate of glyphosate do you use? Was droplet size or nozzle selection? For you AIM guys, do I use a teejet twinjet for coverage or a wilger single one for concentration? I have good idea on staging.

Last year I used 7.5 gallons water with 1.5L glyphosate and it did a good job. I would like to use 5 gal though.

Will be doing flax and fababeans too but will be using reglone for quick dry down and so I can save the seed. I guess if I want to save any wheat seed I will be using reglone on those acres too.

·
Premium Member
8,228 Posts
Just curious what rate and cost is the reglone?

I have little experience with desiccating but believe that 10gpa will give better results than 5. A single nozzle pointed downward would be better than twins???

·
Registered
1,644 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The reglone rate I use is 15 acres per jug and 5L of LI 700 per 1000 gal tank, the cost is roughly $15 per acre I think though would have to double check.

·
Premium Member
8,228 Posts
The reglone rate I use is 15 acres per jug and 5L of LI 700 per 1000 gal tank, the cost is roughly $15 per acre I think though would have to double check.
Thanks, might have to do this with my flax.....very uneven. That would be sprayer pass #5 for the year.:eek:

·
Premium Member
1,832 Posts
I do our wheat with 0.67L of 540g/L glyphosate @ 5 gallons and have had no issues. Faba beans need lots of water and I think you have to do a way higher rate of reglone then if you were only doing say peas, I can't recall for sure but I think you do 11 ac per jug on beans??? I have to check, this year I am going in with 20 gal of water on our beans they are a way better stand then last year