The Combine Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.
I was wondering if anyone have< tried to make a diy auto steer for trimble 250 or 500. I've been spraying by hand with a 500 as guidance for a few years, and have been dreaming of a autosteer since day one!!
Would it be possible to decode trimble communication at the eezy steer-plug on the harness and use the messages to program a arduino for turning a motor on the steer? This is only meant to keep me on the ABline, not even bothered with slope compensation, for now...
If it's not doable, I was also thinking of maybe hacking the guidance lightbar to turn the steering-motor according to which lights are on, also done through a arduino.
This is all just basic explanation to pick your mind.
Appreciate your time

·
Registered
4,358 Posts
I have the EZ Steer and some time I'd like to sniff the messages to see if I could drive the EZ Steer motor from AgOpenGPS, kind of the opposite of what you want to do. Speaking of AgOpenGPS, I think you'll get far more mileage out of a DIY AgOpenGPS solution than trying to reverse-engineer EZ Steer with the Trimble 250. I understand the appeal of hacking something that works with your existing Trimble hardware (it appeals to me too), but AgOpenGPS is probably the easier route. And fun.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply.
I have always looked past the idea of agopengps mainly because I already have a Trimble 500 with eezy boom and I recon the cost of all the AOG hardware would exceed that of a used eezy steer.
That said, after a day of thinking about it, I must agree with you that it is best to try AOG. Reason being is that a Trimble 500 is a ticking time bomb. I already lost one with a pcb problem(backlight and antenna fried) and trimble discontinued them, no more repairs!! Better get AOG up and running before I get caught with my pants down, again!!