The Combine Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
we are farming in Australia and we grow alot of small seed crops like cowpea (beans) and other lab lab crops that are vines as well as grass seed that we direct harvest green And wet, most farms around are running draper's but still a few augers getting around and I'm still running a auger (1010) myself on 2188 but looking to update to a 7120 with the option of either a macdon 2152 or a case ih 3020.
what's everyone's thoughts considering our condition's. thanks

·
Registered
32 Posts
I farm in US - also irrigated. I ran an 8010 with a 40' 2142. I also ran a 7230 with a 3020 header. I wouldn't go back to an auger header, I've been nothing but drapers for 30 years and they are great for wheat.

I grow some peas but not many so I never had the cross crop auger installed (pea auger as some call it). Neither of those headers were very good in my peas without that option and, if you do much of that, I'd get the optional pea auger.

Comparing the 2142 to the 3020 - I think the 2142 is a better header. That really is a phenomenal header. The 3020 was fine too though but, I felt the 2142 was better at contouring the ground in rough terrain. I run dry farm as well - in that scenario, we end up down in the dirt quite a bit. That proved problematic to the bearings on the 2142 in the center draper. It seemed I could get a season and a half out of them but, finally decided that it was worth changing them at the beginning of the season and then I knew I'd be fine.

I imagine the 2152 is only better than the 2142 at contouring but maintains the other strengths of that particular header.

Good luck.

·
Registered
3,827 Posts