The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
868 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Who got fababeans , and how do they perform!
Seen couple fields in NE sask and they look impressive.
They handle moisture good and stay healthy.
What marketing options are there and what variety are you growing or what market are you shoooting for?

·
Registered
1,644 Posts
This is my first year. Only did 25 acres to demo and get seed for next year. These are "snowbird". I wish I had more, they look great. But long time until harvest so I'll wait to toot any horns yet. All of the pulse places are taking fababeans, most brokers have lines as well. Besides the late excepted harvest, the other downside is chemical options and large seed size. I had some left over authority from doing flax acres and I wish I had done the whole field. Then I used viper but got in a little late because of the weather. Set back good and not the greatest kill, I can see some canola flowers out there now. The seed size is huge too. Didn't have any trouble seeding though as others report, but worried about combining them. We'll see I guess.

Here's a couple of pics. I used celltech granula pea inoculant and have excellent nodulation.

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
Nicemustang What do you use for a seeding implement?

·
Registered
1,644 Posts
3320 paralink with 6450 tank. Seeded 3.5 bushles per acre, 6 lbs granular inoculant, 20 lbs actual phos. Tried to get them 1.5" deep. Seeded at 4.5 mph.

·
Super Moderator
4,676 Posts
Don't know for sure but around 475 g/1000
475 mg, same thing.
You seeded 235 kg/ha and by simply dividing by the 475 gives 50 seeds sq/m.
That's toward high side seeding rates I think.

Big Snowbird seed and not all openers can deal with seed that big, just something anyone considering Faba should keep in mind.

·
Premium Member
2,077 Posts
You seeded 235 kg/ha and by simply dividing by the 475 gives 50 seeds sq/m.
That's toward high side seeding rates I think....