The Combine Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Replaced the front feederchain on my recently purchased R62. When I first started putting it on I had it going backwards. Its a really easy job to do and only took me a half hour counting putting it on wrong in the first place. Sped it up and added some music to it. Turn down the volume if ya dont like Colt Ford.

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sprockets were in good shape surprisingly. Turned on the seperator and she ran real quiet. I was dreading removing the feederhouse to replace the sprockets.

·
Ken Adams
1,350 Posts
I have limited Gleaner experience (2nd year running a Gleaner) and do realize they have larger and better sprockets, but my history with IH and caseIh, I would never, ever put a new chain on used sprockets, on the red combines!

·
Registered
199 Posts
Sprockets were in good shape surprisingly. Turned on the seperator and she ran real quiet. I was dreading removing the feederhouse to replace the sprockets.
Pulling the feeder house really isn't hard to do on these things as long as you have a loader tractor, forklift or something similar.

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
This is the second time we've replaced a feederchain without replacing the sprockets, if the dealer didn't recommend it we didn't feel like spending money for no apparent reason. Hasnt burned me on the first machine but Ill get to find out if I made the wrong move soon enough.

·
Registered
407 Posts
I don't remove the feederhouse to replace sprockets on a Gleaner. Remove the right side drive tire and push the shaft out the right side. Any quicker ?? maybe and maybe not, but I never deal with the R&R of the throat.

·
Registered
1,276 Posts