The Combine Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
has anyone been doing any foward contracting of this year crop before planting starts this spring, prices aren't great but are better than a few years ago.

·
Registered
1,200 Posts
I have been forward contracting alittle bit of new crop. Main reason is it is sure nice to haul directly off the combine and start some cash flow. Still I don't think a person should intentionally sell below cost of prodution with "potential production" that is just asking for trouble.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ya its hard to know what to do, not sure what i've been reading sounds like prices could be low around these levels for a year or more.

·
Super Moderator
5,952 Posts
Ok, a disclaimer first: I'm a young farmer, and haven't been in the marketing "biz" all that long; I posses an analytical/photographic memory, so this is based off of graphs and the string theory.

This is based on the US economy sinking further into depression, and remaining there for the rest of the year. By 2010 inflation will start to take hold (you can't fix an economy broken by big debt, with more debt)

I fully expect $7.75-$6.75 canola sometime this year. The US is going to put massive acres into soybeans, and that'll put pressure on canola. A lot of guys will switch to flax because it is a lower-input crop; I think flax will bottom out at around $8 - 9 / bu. $10 will be a good price come fall. If less canola than expected is in the Stats Can seeded acres report, expect a rally.

With wheat, I think $6is - 7ish will be about the norm... feed barley at $2.75/bu and oats at $1.80 - $2.20/bu, may see a push upwards in fall if few acres go in. Lots of left over crop though.

Vitera is giving away free oat seed from what I've heard, that should tell you how much oats is going in