The Combine Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey just have a few questions that have been eating away at me lately, I've only ran a conventional before this so I'm kind of new at this so bear with me haha

Just bought a 1660 with low low hours on it but noticed there's some sort of baffle type thing just behind the rotor, above the sieves is bent in the middle, what is this called an what does it do?

Also the combine came with new barley concaves, I'm curious what they are for? I'm guessing for malt barley?

Also I'm getting worried about one of the fields I'll be harvesting barley on, irrigated a little later than I should've and it laid down, there's a considerable amount of rocks on the one knoll and all I hear is how you don't want to run a rock through a rotary. my question is, is it really as bad as people make it out to be? I can say I've ran my fair share of rocks through a conventional and have been fine to this point knock on wood lol. The combine does have a rock trap but they seem to sneak by sometimes lol.

And suppose the rotor is off balance, how does one tell?

Also does anyone recommend bumping up the hp a little more?

·
Registered
3,259 Posts
If it does not have a chopper, that "baffle" is just the beater pan and is a weak spot. You can try to straighten it. You can buy a new one and it will bend. And you can buy a new one, brace it, and it will still bend. Only way to not bend it, is to not run tough stuff into the machine that clumps up in the rotor and plugs the beater.

If the rotor is out of balance, it will shake the machine like crazy. Usually you can not see anything in the mirrors they will be shaking so bad.

I'll let others tell you about upping the hp as I do not do that. Both of my 1680s are stock hp and will remain so for some time yet. I dont have any rocks, so cant comment on it.

·
Registered
1,994 Posts