The Combine Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Gleaner G I am going through, greasing oiling and adjusting. I am completely new to combines, but have the original owner's manual on adjusting everything so going through it is not a problem, just a function of time. The combine is is very good condition, little wear on sprockets, etc, belts in nice shape. What I need to know is the dimensions of the header jacks (feet for parking the header.) They are missing. I need the length of each one, the distance from the top to the holes for the pins. One hole locates the raised position, the other the parking position. I will have no trouble fabricating them as I have a complete machine shop. I also cannot find any information on a lever in the cab. It is not listed or shown in the the Owner's manual. I think it may be a high-low range selector for the transmission. It is just above floor level on the right side of the seat. Following the linkage takes me to the tranny or differential, not sure which as I haven't been under the combine yet. I didn't notice the lever when I drove the machine home a couple of months ago or I would have checked it out. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
the hi-lo splitter box was available, and quite un-common, it would be cool if you had one.

as far as the stands, where are you located? soes your header still have the brackets?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I live in MW Montana. I will be firing the combine up in the next day or two so will check out that lever then. I just have a few more things to adjust and grease and I will be hooking the header up to harvest a small test crop of Camelina. I've never run a combine before and am setting it up for alfalfa seed. That's supposed to work for Camelina seed. guess I will find out.