The Combine Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For starters I'm a newbie here. Been a guest viewer for awhile. I now have a chance to buy a Gleaner G. I only do about 50 acres of barley each year (so its kind of a toy) and have always been an Allis fan. What kind of machine was the G. What should I look for or lookout for. Don't know whether gas or diesel, hydro or gear but thought with the depth of knowledge on this forum someone should have good advice. Also, (I know its a tough question without details) what should a G sell for? Thanks in advance

·
Registered
597 Posts
Great combine!, dependable and easy to work on.. the 6 cyl gas engine is very dependable and tough, they were most common. I owned a dozen of those machines over the years. The variable speed drives on the gear driven models have to be kept up and make sure there are no loose wooden fan blades in the cleaning fans. Transmissions and final drives are trouble free. The cylinder bars on these machines must be in top notch shape (this is crucial to their performance) An all around good machine and probabaly not that expensive. If its a hydro or a diesel go for it!!
We never had the good fortune to run across either one as they were quite rare up here in Canada. Great capacity in standing wheat but you will have to slow down in barley..as with all makes.

·
Registered
293 Posts