The Combine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, just wondering if anyone has used the grain guard propane/ng heaters that mount between fan and bin? do they work good? are there any issues with trying to dry canola/ flax down a few points with them? what size of bin works best? hopper or flat bottom? any advice would be appreciated as I have no experience with them and would like to try using one. I'm thinking of getting the 24" inline centrifugal 100,000btu model. thanks

·
Registered
52 Posts
We use em But we don't like to use em. Been a long time since we used them in canola but they will get you out of a bind at times. We have them on 5000 bu bins takes time though and should flip the grain after because the top might be tough

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
with the cold weather here I would really warn you about moisture condensing on the roof , the walls and on the grain itself on the top of the pile . When it is warm outside you don't have to worry about condensation as much . Keep a close eye on the grain in the bin and don't try to dry a big pile in the bin as it will take a long time and you could get spoilage before it gets dry . Would shoot for a half a bin to start and this all depends on how much moisture you are pulling out . I wouldn't even think of anything over 16% on our drier bin I won't think of anything over 18% as it will take forever and go through tons of propane .

·
Premium Member
5,389 Posts
We used 125,000 btu disiel heaters mounted about 8 inches from the fan inlet. They work as long as you fill the 18x5 bin 1/2 to 2/3 full and turn the entire bin within 5-7 days.

·
Registered
546 Posts
I have 20000 with ng heaters, agree with everything said especially about condensation. very inefficient and expensive to run.Buy a dryer

·
Registered
140 Posts