Votes: 2 13.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Crop got pulverized June 24th, hail adjusters may not come for a while. Could leave check strips for adjusters, spray it out and re seed to Oats or Barley. Or do u just leave it? Or do u just seed into it with disc drill with oats and cut for silage. Any past experiences would be helpful.We usually can go frost free until Mid October.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Live in Southern Alberta ,usually are hail comes second week of July , so we normally do nothing. I am new to irrigation and now that we have water available I thought reseeding might be a better option. Poll with options would be good. I have already plunked the cash down, 160 lbs of N, in crop herbicide( traxos 2).Have feedlots close by so have outfits looking for feed.

·
Registered
975 Posts
I had durum hailed out on July 10th last year. I sprayed it out. June 25 will make a crop. There was lots cut and baled with the head at soft dough in early sept. My uncle had hail June 25 before. Got paid 100% on hail insurance and got an a average crop out of it to boot.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Have been hailed several times in early july when wheat is just at heading time ,in a wet year if crop stays wet and dosent dry out it came back and produced an avg crop ,with you having irrigation would think you could make a fairly good crop yet with the help of available water ,lots of different options on what to spray on it to possibly help it out ,,,

·
Registered
453 Posts